Mocingbird's research team has verified and validated with the Florida Board of Osteopathic Medicine to get the most up-to-date CME requirements for DOs. Here is a quick summary of things you must know: 

License Renewal Cycle Time for Florida (DOs):

  • Florida state license renewals are due on March 31st, every 2 years. 
  • Requirements for MDs and DOs are different. The CME requirements listed below are only for DO state license renewals.  

Board Rule Checklist: Florida Board of Osteopathic Medicine (ONLY DOs): 

  • Complete 40 hours of CME
    • Due date: Every 2 years
  • Of the 40 hours of CME, complete a minimum of 20 AOA Category 1A hours
    • Due date: every 2 years
  • Complete 2 hours of CME on domestic violence
    • Due date: Every 3rd biennium renewal 
  • Complete 1 hour of CME in Florida Laws and Rules/Professional and Medical Ethics
    • Due date: Every 2 years
  • Complete 2 hours of CME in prevention of medical errors
    • Due date: Every 2 years
  • Complete 1 hour of CME on human trafficking 
    • Due date: By January 1, 2021
  • If you are registered with the DEA and are authorized to prescribe controlled substances: Complete 2 hours of CME in prescribing controlled substances
    • Due date: Every 2 years
  • Complete 1 hour of CME in HIV/AIDS
    • Due date: On first renewal after initial license date
      • Note: You must complete this requirement if it is your first renewal, and your license was issued prior to July 1st of the second year of the biennium
  • If you are a member of the Armed Services on active duty or you were discharged within 6 months of course completion: You must complete 40 hours of CME, but they can all be home-study (home study is defined as…)
    • Due date: Every 2 years 
  • If you are within 2 years of your initial license date, and your initial license date is AFTER July 1st of the second year of the biennium: You must complete 1 hour of CME in Florida Laws and Rules/Professional Medical Ethics (due every 2 years), 2 hours of CME in prevention of medical errors (due every 2 years)
  • If you are within 2 years of your initial license date, and your initial license date is BEFORE July 1st of the second year of the biennium: You must complete:  You must complete 40 hours of CME (due every 2 years), of those 40 hours of CME complete a minimum of 20 AOA Category 1A hours (due every 2 years), complete 2 hours of CME on domestic violence (due every 3rd biennium), complete 1 hour of CME in Florida Laws and Rules/Professional and Medical Ethics (due every 2 years), complete 2 hours of CME in prevention of medical errors (due every 2 years), complete 1 hour of CME in HIV/AIDS (due on first renewal after initial license date)

For more detailed information, please visit the Florida Board of Osteopathic Medicine website. 

*Requirements are subject to change. Please refer to your Mocingbird account for the most up-to-date accurate information.*

---

To view customized tasks regarding your FL license requirements, sign into your Mocingbird profile and your virtual assistant has already created your upcoming task list.

Don’t have a Mocingbird account yet? Sign up your free trial today at mocingbird.com
Drop us a note if you are interested in partnering up with us. Complete this contact form and our team will reach out with a free CME process consultation for your organization.